One-on-One with Steve Kuclo by FitAdina

Chris250

MuscleChemistry Registered Member
One-on-One with Steve Kuclo

AZ: You’re a firefighter by trade, correct? How helpful is your bodybuilding lifestyle in your chosen career, and how did you choose this career to begin with?

SK: Hey MD!

As most of you know from the video that Robbie and I did last year, I am a firefighter by trade. I work for Dallas Fire Rescue as a Firefighter and a Paramedic.

We split our time. About half of the time, I am on the back end of a fire engine, and the other half, I am a paramedic on the ambulance.

I originally was going to school to be an automotive engineer, but saw the decline in the automotive world. I then decided to put myself through fire/medic training.

I applied to several departments in the Detroit area. This was at the same time I met my wife, Amy. Her father retired from the Dallas Fire Department and mentioned that they where hiring.

I applied and nine months later was hired. This is by far the best job in the world!

AZ: You took your class, heavyweight, at Teen Nationals in 2004. Then it looks like you took some time off the National Stage before reappearing there in 2008? Was the time off to put on size, go to school, or was it even planned?

SK: The contest history for me on MD is little misguiding.

I did start competing in 2004 and finished that year at the Teen Nationals, winning the heavyweights.

I competed in 2005, as well, at the Teen Nationals and won the heavyweight division again.

In 2006, I competed in the NPC Motorcity Championships, which was a National Qualifier, and won the Super Heavyweight and Overall at the age of 20.

In 2007, I decided to compete at the North Americans and placed top ten. This was during a big transition in my life. I had moved from Detroit to Dallas, and just started working for Dallas Fire. I had a difficult time committing 100% to the show.